Cocoa-Kissed Road Trip Cookies

By the time you read this, I’ll be on the road!

Up to the land of perfect summer, The Okanagan — sunshine and orchards and wineries, oh my!

Since I’m always the self-designated Head of Everything Sweet and Snacky, it’s only natural for me to feel that no road trip could ever possibly be complete without some kind of baked treats in tow.

Originally I made these for a coworker to take on her cross-BC road trip (she doesn’t know how to bake, but she wanted her 14-year-old son to have something special to munch on for his birthday) and they turned out too good to not make again.

I love it when that happens!

Anyways, these cookies are a little chewy, a little chocolatey, and a little sweet — and they’re full of oats to keep ’em softer for longer, too.

I’ve mostly added M&Ms to these cocoa-kissed cookies each time I’ve made them, because M&M are bright and fun — like road trips!– but regular chocolate chips, walnuts, almonds, or dried fruit would work just as well.

So, where have you gone this summer?

Cocoa-Kissed Road Trip Cookies

*recipe by Christine

roadtripcookies04

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3/4 cup quick-cook oats
  • 1 & 1/2 cups mix-in, like chocolate chips or nuts

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F/175°C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.

Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and then beat in the vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, sift together the all-purpose flour, unsweetened cocoa, baking powder, and salt.

Add the sifted dry ingredients to the bowl of creamed ingredients and stir gently to mix together. Stir in the quick-cook oats and your choice of mix-ins (I like to use milk chocolate and walnuts)!

Chill the dough for 30 minutes, then spoon out bits of dough large enough to make 2.5 inch (7 cm) diameter cookies

Roll the dough into balls, place the dough balls on the baking sheet, then flatten with the palm of your hand to the shape and thickness you’d like your cookies to be.

Bake for 15 ~ 17 minutes.

If these weren’t supposed to be rainbow-speckled-fun-times-road-trippin’ cookies, then I’d make them with hazelnuts and dark chocolate chunks for a more mature flavour.

Either way, I’ve gotta make sure I pack the cooler with enough milk to go around, since this recipe makes at least 20 big ol’ cookies. Yum!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Cocoa-Kissed Road Trip Cookies

  1. Nicki says:

    Those look delicious! Have fun on your trip – I went on a two-week road trip with my best friend across the United States. Definitely something I want to do again!

  2. Joanne says:

    I love the way you display the cookies, looks fun and yummy!

  3. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    These look so good! I love cookies that have a ton of stuff in them. And they’re perfect for a road trip. I could see myself eating at least a billion of these while driving along.

  4. I like how this cookie looks so hearty and satisfying. It almost looks kind of healthy, like it would be good for your colon or something.

  5. Laura R. says:

    I made them with dark chocolate chips and hazelnuts! Very yummy 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

