Roséy Strawberry Cream Tart

Once upon a time, I only wanted to get drunk on fruity, girly cocktails.

I ate a lot of instant noodles, played a lot of video games, skipped a lot of school, and was content in my adolescent lifestyle.

When I went back to school and got serious, though, everything changed — I started out at Langara College, where I actually began to fit in, feel respected, and succeed (all at the same time!) for the first time in my life.

It was me on my path to becoming a proper adult.

Anyways, because I’d always liked reading and writing, I took a lot of English classes while collecting enough credits to transfer to UBC.

It didn’t take too long to notice that one of the many things my much-admired English profs were always talking about was wine.

Reading and drinking wine. Getting nice bottles of wine. Giving nice bottles of wine. Even the characters in the classic literature I read always seemed to be drinking in luxurious wine.

I knew what I had to do to be a proper adult, an adult like the English profs I aspired to emulate: I had to drink wine, too — even though I hated it!

At first, drinking wine was totally forced — but now I don’t know how I went so long without it. It’s diverse in variety, complex in taste, nuanced in aroma, gorgeous on the tongue…! Wine, yum!

I drink wine, therefore I’m a total adult.

Of course, I still do a lot of immature things. Like, I still watch cartoons and collect hamster toys, I’m no good at sports that don’t involve beer and body contact, I drop the F-bomb in polite company, and I do reckless shit and laugh about it later.

Hey, people — baby steps, okay?

cookie crumb crust!

This rosey strawberry cream tart totally has its two feet in the adult world.

It’s a slightly more elegant version than the recipe that inspired it, made with a baked graham crust and flavoured with rosé wine (pick an off-dry, fruit-forward kind from California or British Coloumbia).

Damn tart — it’s probably going to be more mature than I ever am!

Roséy Strawberry Cream Tart

*recipe by Christine, inspired by Cathy of Noble Pig

Ingredients

Graham Tart Shell

  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold and cubed

Strawberry, Cream & Rosé Filling

  • 4 cups fresh chopped strawberries (1.5 lb/700 grams)
  • 1/3 ~ 1/2 cup white sugar, to taste
  • 1/4 cup off-dry rosé wine
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoons whip cream
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 1 packet powdered gelatin

Directions

First, make the graham tart shell.

Preheat the oven to 350°F/175°C. Butter and flour a 9-inch tart pan.

Sift together the all-purpose flour, graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and salt. Add the cold butter cubes and lemon zest. Using a pastry cutter, work the butter into the sifted ingredients until no large chunks remain.

Turn the crumbly cookie mixture out into the tart pan. Using floured finger tips, firmly press the dough evenly over the bottom and up the sides of the pan.

Place the tart pan on a cookie sheet, pierce the bottom of the dough all over with a fork, and bake for 20 minutes.

Allow the tart to cool for 20 minutes at room temperature, then place in the fridge to chill until needed.

In a large, heat-proof bowl, sprinkle the powdered gelatin with 3 tablespoons of cold water. Let stand while you prepare the strawberry cream filling.

Using a blender or a food processor, puree the strawberries.

Place in the strawberry puree in a saucepan, add the sugar, rosé wine, lemon juice, and vanilla extract. Taste test to see if it needs more sugar. Over medium-low heat, stir the strawberry mixture until it just about comes to a simmer, then whisk in the whip cream.

Cook and whisk for another minute or two, then remove from the heat.

Add the hot strawberry mixture to the bowl containing the soaked gelatin and whisk thoroughly, scraping the bottom of the bowl with the whisk to incorporate all the gelatin.

Pour the strawberry mixture into the prepared tart shell, smooth the top, and refrigerate for 4 hours to set.

For those of you who abstain, feel free to skip the rosé and substitute white grape juice in this recipe instead.

Of course, if you do that, then you’ll never know palate-pleasing harmony of having a glass of the wine with the lovely dessert you just flavoured it with!

Slice this treat with a hot knife, top with whipped cream, and serve chilled. Yum!

Love strawberries but too lazy to make pie? How ’bout some strawberry lassi muffins instead?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Roséy Strawberry Cream Tart

  1. Joanne says:

    Interesting! The final product looks really looks gorgeous.

  2. Such an unusual idea! My mouth is watering like crazy; it looks absolutely delicious! Just bought and frozen lots of strawberries before they go out of season, so I may need to give this a go! 🙂

    • Christine says:

      If you’re using frozen strawberries, just double check the sugar you add and to adjust for sweetness! If they’re packaged by one of those big companies, like Dole, then they usually pick their not-so-sweet, less-than-perfect berries for freezing.

  3. foodlabasia says:

    I think wine is an acquired taste? I didn’t like it either but now I like it! I like this idea of putting wine in a cake! Hehe! Sounds yum!

  4. cindy says:

    I love wine! This tart looks so good, I love the color, and that it is a chilled pie…perfect for summer!

  5. Brandon says:

    Oh my gosh, totally! You have no idea how much people drink in Victorian novels. They’re always guzzling down port, sherry, or claret. Whole plot-lines revolve around people drinking the wrong kind of drink. In one book (Vanity Fair), one character who wants to inherit another character’s money earns her disapproval because he gets drunk on gin instead of something classy like claret lol. And this dessert looks so light and refreshing, with what I imagine to be a slight, pleasant tartness. Divino!

Leave a Reply

