Cheese & Herb Garden Muffins

As soon as I move out of my shoebox-sized apartment, I’m determined to start my very own garden.

Even if it’s not a real garden, even it’s just a few potted plants on my window sill (since I don’t have high hopes for getting a balcony or a patio in the near future, I’d even just settle for another 100 feet of square footage at this point!), it would be great to grow my own herbs and have a few plants.

My boyfriend, though — man, he has it good!

His family has a huge rooftop patio that gets lots of light all year-round and he’s only grown tomatoes.

Once.

Because he was inspired by growing virtual tomatoes on Farmville.

Seriously? Please take this opportunity to facepalm with me.

Sometimes it really gets me cheesed to see people not taking advantage of their good fortune and opportunities. The time is drawing near when I just march over to his place and commandeer the roof!

Anyways, if you’re lucky enough to have a herb garden, then I would use double the amount of fresh herbs for this recipe.

If you’re a shoebox-cave-dwelling, city-living baker like me, however, then dried herbs will do just fine.

Cheese & Herb Garden Muffins

*adapted from The Gourmet Warehouse

Ingredients

  • 2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons cornmeal (optional)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded asiago cheese
  • 1 & 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 heaping cup grape tomatoes, halved

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F/175°C. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and dried herbs.

After sifting once, stir in the shredded parmesan and asiago cheese.

In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, and olive oil until smooth.

Dig a little pit in the middle of the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients into the pit. Gently fold together.

After a few folds, add a third of the grape tomatoes — fold the batter again, add another third of the tomatoes, and repeat until the tomatoes are evenly distributed and no large streaks of flour remain.

Evenly divide the muffin batter between the 12-cups of the muffin tin. Top each muffin with half a grape tomato.

Bake for 23 ~ 27 minutes, or until the tops are lightly browned and dry in appearance.

These muffins are best enjoyed the day-of, since that’s when the grape tomatoes in them will taste the freshest. If tomatoes aren’t your thing and you leave them out, though, I think these muffins would freeze and reheat fairly well.

One warm, cheesy herb muffin, one fresh salad, and one tall glass of lemonade makes for the perfect light summer lunch combination. Yum!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Cheese & Herb Garden Muffins

  1. Mmmm. These looks savoury, almost like an herb scone. Perfect with a cup of Earl Grey tea, I bet. (I’m always pairing pastries with the perfect tea–or alcohol. Or tea with alcohol.)

    • Christine says:

      I’m not sure about Earl Grey, since these muffins almost kinda taste like pizza when you bite into a grape tomato… maybe green tea instead? Green tea + tomatoes = yum? But don’t forget the booze!

      You can buy a sweet tea vodka now, too — I think it’s called “Firefly” or something.

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    These look amazing.. I love savory muffins! And I actually laughed out loud when you said your boyfriend was inspired to plant tomatoes from farmville…

    • Christine says:

      Haha — I know, right! But I guess if Rock Band can inspire people to start playing the guitar or the drums, then maybe it’s not that bad if Farmville can inspire people to become gardeners. 😛

  3. It’s so pretty!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

