Ultimate? Chocolate Chip Cookies

There’s been a lot going on in my life these days!

Not only is my work picking up (as an on-call employee, I don’t always get to work 5 days a week), not only did I spend all yesterday getting gussied up and going to my graduation convocation (so borrrrring), but the Vancouver Canucks (♥) have made it to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in 17 years, too!

And, in case you’re wondering, I definitely left the best for last on that list.

Because I seriously think that Canucks making it to the series final is more important than my graduation. Hockey is seriously serious business, people.

Oh, but it hasn’t all been serious business.

Between watching as many hockey games as I can and panicking over my graduation I’ve had a chance to have some kitchen fun, too — like when I was looking for brown butter cookie recipes online and came across one by Emily at Sugar Plum.

She called her recipe “ultimate chocolate chip cookies” and used coconut oil and yeast.

I was intrigued, but a little frustrated over the high price of coconut oil when I went looking for it around the city.

So, when I spied a jar of coconut oil on my mum’s kitchen counter the other day, I swiped the quarter-cup I needed and got down to seeing how “ultimate” these cookies really are!

Ultimate? Chocolate Chip Cookies

*recipe from Sugar Plum Blog

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar (firmly packed)
  • 1/2 tablespoon fresh (or dried) yeast
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 heaping teaspoon of sea salt
  • 1 heaping cup of dark chocolate chips

Directions

In a skillet over medium-low heat, melt and cook the half-cup of butter until it becomes fragrant, foamy, and amber-coloured. Remove from the heat and let cool for 10 minutes.

Sift together the all-purpose flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

Once the melted butter has cooled a little, blend it into the coconut oil in a large bowl. Add the white and brown sugar, then beat until combined.

Work in the yeast until completely dissolved, then beat in the egg and vanilla extract.

Add the sifted flour to the bowl and mix until no streaks of flour remain. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Wrap the dough in clingfilm and refridgerate for 30 minutes (any longer and the dough will become really hard to work with)!

Preheat the oven to 350°F (or 175°C). Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Pinch off bits of the dough and roll 1.5 inch (3 cm) diameter dough balls. Place the ball 3 inches (6 cm) apart on the cookie sheet and flatten them slightly with the palm of your hand.

Bake for 12 ~ 14 minutes, or until the edges are well browned.

In the end, while I do think these cookies were pretty awesome, I’m not sure if they quite made it to ultimate status…

Firstly, I don’t see what difference the yeast made to the leavening or the flavour, so next time I’d leave it out.

Also, the coconut oil in these cookies made them a little on the greasy side, and they didn’t spread the way I’d hoped they would, so next time I’d replace the quarter cup of coconut oil with half a cup of softened butter.

Lastly, these cookies were just a smidgen too sweet for me, so next time I’d reduce the brown sugar to just half a cup.

I think Ms. Sugar Plum was definitely on the right track, though — and, like they say, there’s no accounting for personal taste.

These chocolate chip cookies are still infinitely better than anything I’ve bought in this city, so make yourself a batch (with or without my recommended changes) and getcher self a big glass of milk! Yum!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Ultimate? Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Brandon says:

    I like this. I like seeing the occasional very basic, classic recipe done really, really well. It just shows that sometimes it is quality that matters. And boy, oh, boy, do you know how to make food look good on film, honey.

Leave a Reply

