White Chocolate Risotto

White chocolate and risotto rice? With white wine, too?

Uh, yeah! You heard me right!

Put ’em all together and what d’ya got? A fancy rice pudding delight in a cup!

Okay, uh… so that didn’t really rhyme like I expected it to. Face palm.

Moving on from terrible ditties and my inability to make them up on the spot — I totally knew I had to make this recipe when I came across it very unexpectedly.

There I was, leafing through last year’s fashion magazines someone has left around the lunch room at my work, when I was totally struck by sweet risotto lightning!

I mean, in my haze to scribble down the recipe and scurry back on shift, I’ll admit that I don’t totally remember exactly which fashion magazine this recipe came from, but it was a fashion magazine, and I’m pretty sure it was In Style.

Which, uh, wasn’t really the kind of magazine you’d expect to find a recipe in. Let alone a sweet recipe. With fat in it.

Those people who’re in In Style, those people who make In Style… well, I didn’t really think they were the, uh, type of people who ate.

So, obviously this find was totally serendipitous. Right?

And, obviously I need to reexamine some of the stereotypes I believe in. Right?

White Chocolate Risotto

*adapted from In Style magazine

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup whip cream, unwhipped
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup arborio (risotto style) rice
  • 3/4 cup white wine, like muscato, marsanne, or riesling
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon saffon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups whole milk, room temperature

Directions

First, make a white chocolate ganache — place the chopped white chocolate in a heat proof bowl, heat 1/3 cup whip cream over medium heat until it just simmers, then pour the hot whip cream over the white chocolate.

Let stand for 1 minute, then stir until smooth. Set aside.

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt 1 tablespoon of butter. Add the arborio rice, stir, and cook for about 1 minute.

Add the white wine, orange zest, and saffron to the skillet. Stir constantly over the heat until most of the wine has been absorbed or evaporated.

Next, add the vanilla extract and a 1/2 cup of whole milk to the skillet.

Stir constantly until  most of the milk has been absorbed or evaporated, then add another 1/2 cup of milk. Repeat until you have added all 2 cups of milk.

Once you’ve added all the milk and all the excess liquid is gone, remove the risotto from the heat. It should look like a soft, creamy porridge — taste test it, and the rice should be tender and chewy.

Allow 5 minutes to cool, then fold the risotto and white chocolate ganache together.

Spoon the white chocolate risotto into individual serving glasses and garnish with orange zest and saffron. Makes enough for four 1/2 cup portions.

How’s that for fancy-pants rice pudding?

I’d never made risotto before in my life, but this is a veritable no-fail recipe. Even better — the result is delightfully creamy, without being too heavy or sweet.

I’d definitely recommend serving this white chocolate risotto warm, so that all the flavour and aroma in this dessert are at their peak!

If you’ve got to save it for later, though, I image it would be all right to microwave for a few seconds per small serving. You could even serve it up with a glass of the same white wine you used to make it! Yum!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “White Chocolate Risotto

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    This looks delicious. I can’t decide whether I like the white chocolate part, the risotto part, or the white wine part better, haha

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    This is like a posh version of the cream rice. Yummy!

  3. […] risotto was adapted from this recipe. For the monogramming, I just printed out letters backwards, placed under parchment paper and piped […]

Leave a Reply

