Walnut Rum Bundt with Sour Cherry Glaze

I’ve been a little nutty lately.

Err, I mean, I’ve been nuts for nuts.

I mean, I’ve just been on a mad nut streak! You know what I mean!

Okay, maybe you don’t.

Let me explain: first there were sneaky pecans in my cookies. Then I went overboard with peanuts and I didn’t even try to hide it. Today I’m all about the walnuts, and next week I’m going to get all hazelnut up in my kitchen.

I think this must be some kind of fresh fruit withdrawal.

See, I try to eat local as best I can, and it’s about this time of year that I really start to moan and begrudge winter.

I go to the supermarket, I stare at glossy plastic packages of imported berries, and can’t overcome enough of my eco-conscience to buy them. It’s terrible.

So, I tide myself over with nuts and jam and check the 5-day weather report for sun and high temperatures 10 times a day — and that’s my sad, sad life.

At least this cake can make these lingering winter months easier!

It’s moist and delicate, a not-too-sweet sort of cake with just a hint of rum and walnut. This is the second time I’ve made this recipe, and while I like the sour cherry and buttermilk glaze, let me tell you that you can use an orange marmalade instead and it’s just as fantastic!

Walnut Rum Bundt with Sour Cherry Glaze

walnutrumcake03

*adapted from Booze Cakes and Sweetie Pie

Ingredients

Walnut Rum Bundt

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 & 2/3 cups white sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup golden rum
  • 1/2 cup finely ground walnuts

Sour Cherry Glaze

  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sour cherry jam
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons buttermilk

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°F (or 175°C). Grease and flour a 9 inch bundt pan.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

In a separate bowl, stir the milk, extracts, and rum together.

Starting with the flour mixture, gently mix the sifted flour mixture and the milk + rum mixture into the creamed butter + sugar + eggs in 3 alternating additions:  1/3 flour, 1/2 milk + rum, 1/3 flour, 1/2 milk + rum, and then 1/3 flour. Doing this prevents the batter from curdling!

Once the batter is just incorporated, fold in 1/2 a cup of finely ground walnuts.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, smoothing out any lumps or unevenness on top.

Pop the pan into the oven at bake for 60 minutes, or until the batter that “peeks” out of the cracks in the top of the cake are no longer sticky and wet looking.

Cool for at least 30 minutes before turning out on a wire rack to cool completely. Once the bundt is cooled, feel free to level the bottom of the cake so that it sits flush with a serving platter or plate.

To make the glaze, first cream the softened butter and icing sugar together.

Mix until smooth, then add the buttermilk and vanilla extract. Stir until smooth.

Beat in the sour cherry jam and stir until the glaze is smooth again, adding more buttermilk or icing sugar to adjust the consistency of the glaze if needed.

Drizzle over your cooled walnut rum bundt!

So, sour cherry jam might not be as great as fresh berries… but sometimes jam can getcha pretty damned close.

Just close your eyes, put a spoonful on your toast, imagine it’s fresh berry pie…

Yeah — that doesn’t actually work for me either, but I promise this cake will hit the spot in the same way! Yum!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

